icons

About

Impressive constructions by contemporary artists and architects will appear in the historic city centre from 5 May to 16 September 2018. They are answers to the consequences of today's liquid society.

This world is changing rapidly. Established ways of thinking and forms of life are under pressure. What does the future hold?

The Bruges Triennial invited international artists and architects to think about these questions. Many of them sought inspiration for their work in the role of liquidity in the city that is literally criss-crossed and surrounded by water. The waterways that once earned Bruges its international renown, become a metaphor for Liquid City. Fifteen works of art, installations and meeting places have been put up in the city centre. They form a hospitable route that brings people together in unexpected spots. That is indeed one of the objectives of the Bruges Triennial 2018: generating encounters, challenging people not only to view the artworks but also to experience them and to become part of the creative process.

"THE MODERN ERA WAS A JOURNEY TOWARDS PERFECTION. FOR THE SAME REASONS, THE MODERN ERA WAS ALSO AN ERA OF DESTRUCTION." ZYGMUNT BAUMAN

The concept

triennial bruges 2018 | liquid city

Bruges Triennial 2018: Liquid City | Vloeibare Stad reaches back to the theme of 2015, which was a reflection on the city as a megapolis. This time, however, it takes a step further: how flexible, liquid and resilient can a historic city like Bruges be in an age when nothing seems to be certain any longer?

Curators Till-Holger Borchert and Michel Dewilde

Imagining the Liquid City

Memory can be deceptive. It is often impossible to know where our individual recollections stop and the collective memory takes over. The ego, the subconscious and the Zeitgeist form a ménage à trois in our minds, while the anxiety-riddled times in which we are living today make us long wistfully for ‘how things used to be’. None other than Zygmunt Bauman, prophet of the permanent crisis in the West, devoted his final book to this phenomenon, also known as ‘retrotopia’. The originator of the concept of ‘liquid modernity’ published the book a year before his death in January 2017. In Retrotopia, Bauman invites the reader to question the dynamics of our society, as well as the metaphor ‘liquid’ itself, which today stands in stark contrast with the institutional framework that once formed a safe environment for our (grand)parents. Each institution in turn, be that the government, the church, political parties, insurance companies and banks, have lost the trust of the public. This renders society particularly vulnerable to fear-mongers. The ‘good old days’ are in reality not that much different from our own, or from, say, the golden age of the 14th-15th centuries. At that time, Bruges was already known as the liquid city of Northern Europe: socially divided as few others, its prosperity dependent on the sea and its economy driven by the tides and the ruling classes’ hunger for money. The death of Philip the Good (1467), Charles the Bold (1477) and Mary of Burgundy (1482) in close succession marked the end of the Burgundian dream in several ways, and even brought down one of the most powerful banking houses, the Banco dei Medici in Florence. So what remains in our collective memory about that period? The artistic legacy, the foundations laid by the Flemish Primitives who placed Bruges on the map as an international artistic centre. Today, we are once again inviting artists and architects to enter into dialogue with the city and to breathe new life into concepts such as hospitality, co-creation and creativity. Their public installations and artworks serve as beacons against an unpredictable future; a home port in turbulent times. If the liquid past foreshadows the liquid future, then that which Jan van Eyck and Hans Memling once achieved is once again achieved by the artists of today, for the benefit of all who live in or visit Bruges!

icons

About

Du 5 mai au 16 septembre 2018, des constructions impressionnantes d'artistes et d'architectes contemporains apparaîtront dans le centre historique de la ville. Ce sont des réponses aux conséquences de la société liquide d'aujourd'hui.

Le monde change à toute vitesse. Des pensées et des modes de vie solidement ancrés sont désormais remis en cause. Que nous réserve l’avenir?

La Triennale de Bruges a invité des artistes et des architectes mondialement célèbres à se pencher sur ces questions. Nombre d’entre eux ont cherché l’inspiration dans le rôle de l’élément liquide qui traverse et encercle littéralement la ville. L’eau, grâce à laquelle Bruges eut jadis un rayonnement international, devient une métaphore de la Ville liquide. Quinze œuvres d’art, installations et espaces de rencontre ont pris place dans le centre-ville et forment un parcours convivial, qui rassemble les visiteurs dans des lieux inattendus. C’est d’ailleurs là un des objectifs de la Triennale de Bruges 2018 : provoquer des rencontres et mettre les gens au défi de ne pas se contenter de regarder les œuvres d’art, mais aussi de les vivre et de faire partie du processus créatif.

“The modern era was a journey towards perfection. For the same reasons, the modern era was also an era of destruction.” Zygmunt Bauman

Le concept

Triennale de Bruges | Ville Liquide

La Triennale de Bruges 2018 : Liquid City | Ville liquide se rattache au thème de 2015, qui proposait une réflexion sur la ville en tant que mégapole. Cette édition pousse toutefois la réflexion encore plus loin : dans quelle mesure une ville historique comme Bruges peut-elle être flexible, liquide et dynamique à une époque où plus rien ne semble encore certain ?

Commissaires Till-Holger Borchert et Michel Dewilde

La représentation de la Ville liquide

Notre mémoire nous joue parfois des tours. Il est souvent impossible de déterminer où s’arrêtent nos souvenirs individuels et où la mémoire collective prend le relais. L’ego, l’inconscient et l’air du temps forment un ménage à trois dans nos pensées, tandis que l’époque anxiogène actuelle nous emplit de mélancolie et nous amène à souhaiter que tout redevienne ‘comme avant’. Zygmunt Bauman, prophète de la crise permanente en Occident, a consacré son dernier livre à ce phénomène également appelé « rétrotopie ». L’inventeur du concept de la « modernité liquide » a publié son ouvrage un an avant sa mort, survenue en janvier 2017. Dans Retrotopia, Bauman invite le lecteur à s’interroger sur la dynamique de notre société, tout comme sur la métaphore « liquide », laquelle offre aujourd’hui un contraste criant avec le cadre institutionnel qui créa jadis un environnement sûr pour nos (grands-)parents. L’une après l’autre, des instances comme les pouvoirs publics, l’Eglise, les partis politiques, les compagnies d’assurances et les banques ont perdu la confiance du public. C’est ce qui a rendu la société particulièrement vulnérable aux propos des semeurs de peur. Le « bon vieux temps » n’est en réalité pas si différent du nôtre, ni même du Siècle d’or du 14e-15e siècle. À l’époque déjà, Bruges était « la » ville liquide par excellence du nord de l’Europe : marquée par des divisions sociales extrêmement fortes, elle devait sa prospérité à la mer et son économie reposait tant sur les marées que sur la cupidité de la classe dirigeante. Les morts successives de Philippe le Bon (1467), Charles le Téméraire (1477) et Marie de Bourgogne (1482) ont, de plusieurs façons, marqué la fin du rêve d’un royaume bourguignon et ont même entraîné la chute de l’une des banques les plus puissantes, la Banco Medici de Florence. Que subsiste-t-il cependant de cette période dans notre mémoire collective ? La réponse est le patrimoine artistique, à la base duquel on retrouve les primitifs flamands et qui a valu à Bruges son statut de centre des arts international. À présent, nous invitons de nouveau des artistes et des architectes à entamer un dialogue avec la ville et à donner corps à des notions telles que l’accueil, la cocréation et la créativité. Leurs installations publiques et œuvres d’art sont autant de balises rassurantes face à un avenir imprévisible et offrent un port d’attache en ces temps incertains. Si le passé liquide augure du présent liquide, les artistes d’aujourd’hui peuvent accomplir à leur tour ce que Jan van Eyck et Hans Memling avaient réalisé en leur temps, pour le plus grand bénéfice de tous les habitants de notre ville ou de tous ceux qui la visitent.