©Iwan Baan
icons

OBBA - The Floating Island

OBBA adds a new dimension to architecture and pushes her boundaries. In Bruges the agency makes room for a new walk, right on the water! Nest in the environment and experience the city from a whole new perspective while the water of the canals is rippling under your feet.

Langerei nabij Snaggaardbrug
free

The installation

The Floating Island

The Floating Island is a unique experience on the canals near the Snaggaardbrug. With this structure, the Korean architectural firm OBBA wished to create additional public (active) space within the Bruges city centre. Together with the Bruges architectural workshop Dertien12, OBBA has designed a floating platform that covers more than 100 square metres. The installation is surrounded by green islands and is open to the public. You can stroll along the bank or take a little break to enjoy the surroundings; elastic nets that simultaneously serve as supports and can be used as hammocks or couches that lean right over the water. With this installation, OBBA crosses the border between the street and the canals. The floating island breaks through the square, vertical bank with a soft, flowing transition to a navigable waterway.

Bio

OBBA

Sojung Lee studied at Ewha Womans University and the University of Pennsylvania. After graduation, she participated in a wide range of projects such as OMA (Office for Metropolitan Architecture) in the Netherlands and Mass Studies in Seoul. She has taught at Seoul National University and Hongik University and currently teaches at Yonsei University.

Sangjoon Kwak is a graduate of Yonsei University of Architectural Engineering. He built his career at YEON Architects and Mass Studies. He is a lecturer in the Department of Architecture at Hongik University.

website OBBA

A collaboration with Dertien12

Met dank aan De Varens

©Iwan Baan
icons

OBBA- The Floating Island

OBBA apporte une nouvelle dimension à l'architecture et repousse ses limites. A Bruges, le bureau crée l'espace pour une nouvelle promenade, sur l'eau! Installez-vous et vivez la ville d'une toute nouvelle perspective pendant que vous êtes entouré du ruissellement des canaux sous vos pieds.

Langerei nabij Snaggaardbrug
gratuit

De installatie

The Floating Island

The Floating Island propose une expérience unique sur les canaux proches du Snaggaardbrug. À travers cette construction, le bureau d’architecture coréen OBBA veut créer un espace public supplémentaire au cœur de Bruges. En collaboration avec le cabinet d’architectes brugeois Dertien12, OBBA a conçu une plateforme flottante de plus de 100 mètres carrés. L’installation est entourée d’îlots de verdure et accessible au public. Vous pouvez flâner le long de la rive et même faire une pause pour apprécier pleinement l’environnement ; des filets élastiques, qui font aussi office de garde-corps, servent de hamacs ou de canapés légèrement inclinés au-dessus de l’eau. Avec ce projet, OBBA estompe la limite entre la rue et les canaux. L’île flottante rompt le côté rectiligne et vertical de la rive en proposant une transition fluide vers une voie d’eau praticable.

Bio

OBBA

Sojung Lee a étudié à l'Université Ewha Womans et à l'Université de Pennsylvanie. Après ses études, elle a participé à un large éventail de projets tels que OMA (Office for Metropolitan Architecture) aux Pays-Bas et Mass Studies à Séoul. Elle a enseigné à l'Université nationale de Séoul et à l'Université de Hongik et enseigne actuellement à l'Université de Yonsei.

Sangjoon Kwak est diplômé de l'Université d'ingénierie architecturale de Yonsei. Il a construit sa carrière chez YEON Architects et Mass Studies. Il est chargé de cours au département d'architecture de l'Université de Hongik.

site Web

En collaboration avec Dertien12

Met dank aan De Varens