©Sarah Bauwens
icons

StudioKCA - Skyscraper (The Bruges Whale)

Near the statue of Jan Van Eyck, Skyscraper (the Bruges Whale) rises up from the Canal. Skyscraper is 5 tons of plastic waste pulled out of the ocean to create a 4 story tall whale: a powerful reminder of the 150,000,000 tons of plastic waste still swimming in our waters. Skyscraper is a physical example of why we need to change how we use and dispose of plastic in the world today.

Spinolarei
free

The installation

Skyscraper (the Bruges Whale)

Near the statue of Jan Van Eyck, Skyscraper (the Bruges Whale) rises up from the Bruges canals. The gigantic sculpture is more than just a representation of a whale; the animal is made of waste, collected from the plastic soup that floats on the seas and oceans of the world. Working with volunteers from the Hawaii Wildlife Fund and the Surfrider Foundation, StudioKCA combed the beaches of Hawaii to gather up the waste. The installation was built out of those finds. StudioKCA seeks this way to draw attention to the universal problem of pollution that affects us all, and to make viewers aware that individual action is necessary.

Skyscraper (The Bruges Whale) Kickstarter Project

StudioKCA has started a crowdfunding campaign on Kickstarter. Processing and transporting the waste on this scale is larger than expected. StudioKCA is still looking for $15,000 to complete the manufacturing of the steel and aluminium parts, to hire the cranes and tools, to transport everything to Bruges in time for the event and to assemble all 107 parts that Skyscraper consists of on location. Deposit your contribution to this project via the Kickstarter website and receive exclusive Skyscraper (the Bruges Whale) returns!

Kickstarter

bio

StudioKCA

StudioKCA is an innovative architecture and design agency led by Jason Klimoski and Lesley Chang, based in Brooklyn, New York. Their projects range in size and complexity from lighting and interiors to public facilities, sculptures and buildings in New York, Vermont, Nevada, Wisconsin, Brazil, Taiwan and Papua New Guinea.

Local dynamics are always the starting point for the conceptualization of objects and spaces paying attention to (recycled) materials. Their pavilions and public facilities have been installed, among others, at Governors Island and Brooklyn Bridge Park in New York and the Jockey Club in São Paulo, Brazil. StudioKCA has already received several prizes and awards, including an American National Architects Small Project Award, AIA New York City or Dreams Pavilion Winner, AIA Brooklyn + Queens Design Award Merit, SARA New York Chapter Design Award of Excellence, two Chicago Athenaeum American Architecture Awards, three Best Interior Design Magazine Design Awards, two finalists for the Architizer A+Award and an honorable mention in the Best of Young Architects from the Architect’s Newspaper.

website StudioKCA

©Sarah Bauwens
icons

StudioKCA - Skyscraper (the Bruges Whale)

La statue de Jan Van Eyck se retrouve face à face avec une baleine bleue, une sculpture gigantesque faite de déchets récupérés du plastic soup, menaçant toute forme de vie sur terre. 

Spinolarei
gratuit

De installatie

Skyscraper (the Bruges Whale)

Tout près de la statue de Jan Van Eyck, Skyscraper (the Bruges Whale) surgit soudain du canal. Cette gigantesque sculpture est bien plus qu’une simple représentation d’une baleine : elle est en effet réalisée à partir de déchets provenant de la fameuse « soupe de plastique » qui dérive dans les mers et les océans du monde entier. Avec l’aide de volontaires du Hawaii Wildlife Fund et de la Surfrider Foundation, StudioKCA a écumé les plages de Hawaï afin d’y récupérer les déchets. L’installation montrée à Bruges est faite de ces « trouvailles ». StudioKCA veut ainsi attirer l’attention sur la problématique de la pollution, qui nous concerne tous, et amener les spectateurs à prendre conscience que chacun doit agir à son niveau.

Skyscraper (The Bruges Whale) Kickstarter Project

StudioKCA a lancé une campagne de crowdfunding sur Kickstarter. Le traitement et le transport des déchets à cette échelle est plus important que prévu. StudioKCA est toujours à la recherche de 15 000 $ pour compléter la fabrication des pièces d'acier et d'aluminium, pour louer les grues et les outils, pour tout transporter à Bruges à temps pour l'événement et pour assembler les 107 pièces qui composent Skyscraper sur place. Déposez votre contribution à ce projet via le site web de Kickstarter et recevez des cadeaux exclusifs de Skyscraper (the Bruges Whale) !

Kickstarter

bio

StudioKCA

StudioKCA est une agence innovante d'architecture et de design dirigée par Jason Klimoski et Lesley Chang, basée à Brooklyn, New York. Leurs projets varient en ampleur et en complexité, depuis les luminaires et les intérieurs jusqu'aux installations publiques, sculptures et bâtiments à New York, au Vermont, au Nevada, au Wisconsin, au Brésil, à Taïwan et en Papouasie-Nouvelle-Guinée. Les dynamiques locales sont toujours le point de départ pour la conceptualisation des objets et des espaces en prêtant attention aux matériaux (recyclés). Leurs pavillons et installations publics ont été installés entre autres à Governors Island et au Brooklyn Bridge Park de New York et au Jockey Club de Sao Paulo au Brésil. Studio KCA a déjà reçu plusieurs prix et récompenses, dont un American National Architects Small Project Award, AIA New York City ou Dreams Pavilion Winner, AIA Brooklyn + Queens Design Award Mérite, SARA New York Chapter Design Award of Excellence, deux Chicago Athenaeum American Architecture Awards, trois prix du meilleur design de l'Interior Design Magazine, deux finalistes de l'Architizer A + Award et une mention honorable dans le Best of Young Architects de l'Architect's Newspaper.